Regional Analysis

The SIGI Regional Reports allow for a more contextualised use of the SIGI and help strengthen regional policy-making aimed at tackling the root causes of gender inequalities.

The SIGI 2019 Regional Report for Eurasia was launched in May 2019, in collaboration with the Austrian Development Agency and UN Women, in Tbilisi, Georgia. It provides an overview of the main outcomes of the 2019 SIGI in 12 Eurasian countries: Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, Republic of Moldova, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine and Uzbekistan.



The SIGI 2020 Regional Report for Latin America and the Caribbean was launched in July 2020 with the support of the European Union through the Joint Project on Gender undertaken in the context of the EU Regional Facility for Development in Transition.  It provides new evidence-based analysis on the setbacks and progress in achieving gender equality between 2014 and 2019 in 29 LAC countries. The report uncovers discrimination in social institutions faced by Latin American and Caribbean women in various dimensions; within the family and household context, in relation to physical integrity and access to productive and financial resources, as well within the political and civil spheres.

Upcoming regional reports include:

  • Southeast Asia Regional Report (2020)
  • Africa Regional Report (2021)